

BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii - The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been called ON today in clean 6-to-8 foot surf. Competition starts at 8 a.m. (local time) with the final of the Men's Pipe Masters Invitational followed by Round 1 of the main event and the Women's Pipe Masters Invitational.

First to compete will be **Reef McIntosh**, **Jamie O'Brien**, **Makai McNamara** and **Hank Gaskell** (all from Hawaii), battling for the chance to win one of two coveted wildcards into the Billabong Pipe Masters.





BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii - The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons has been called ON today in clean 6-to-8 foot surf. Competition starts at 8 a.m. (local time) with the final of the Men's Pipe Masters Invitational followed by Round 1 of the main event and the Women's Pipe Masters Invitational.

First to compete will be **Reef McIntosh**, **Jamie O'Brien**, **Makai McNamara** and **Hank Gaskell** (all from Hawaii), battling for the chance to win one of two coveted wildcards into the Billabong Pipe Masters.

"We've woken up this morning and we have amazing conditions," Kieren Perrow, ASP

Written by Giuseppe Friday, 12 December 2014 21:52

Commissioner, said. "The wind's gone offshore, and the swell has dropped a little bit, which has really helped. It's more organized and it's firing so we are on. We'll run the Pipe Invitational final and then straight into Round 1, and then we'll run the Women's Pipe Masters Invitational."



The final stop of the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour will determine this year's world surfing champion as well as those who qualify for the elite tour in 2015. Brazilian phenom **Gabriel Medina (BRA)**, reigning three-time ASP World Champion **Mick Fanning** (AUS)

ASP World Champion and sporting icon

Kelly Slater (USA)

are the three remaining World Title contenders.

As the third and final stop on the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Series (an ASP Specialty Series in Hawaii), the Billabong Pipe Masters will also determine the winner of the revered three-event leg. Maui's **Dusty Payne (HAW)** is the current frontrunner after a dynamic victory at Haleiwa and blistering runner-up finish at Sunset Beach.

The world's best female surfers will compete at Pipeline today in the Women's Pipe Masters

Written by Giuseppe Friday, 12 December 2014 21:52

Invitational with reigning six-time ASP Women's World Champion **Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)**, two-time ASP Women's World Champion

Carissa Moore (HAW)

, Australian powerhouse

Tyler Wright (AUS)

and international icon

Bethany Hamilton (HAW)

taking to the water.

Surfline, official forecaster for the Billabong Pipe Masters, are calling for:

Broad direction NW swell will decrease through the day on Friday. New, long period WNW swell will build through Saturday and continue Sunday as the swell direction shifts more NW to NNW. This will be another very solid swell and provide similar size surf to what we saw on Wed/Thur, although should be better organized/defined for Pipe (especially Saturday). \(\Pi\) Light ESE trending to building NE wind prevails Friday with building and strong NE trades over the weekend.\(\Pi\)

Taj Burrow (AUS), **Adriano de Souza (BRA)** and **C.J. Hobgood (USA)** have all withdrawn from the Billabong Pipe Masters due to injury and have been replaced by **Glenn Hall (IRL)**

Mitch Coleborn (AUS)

and

Dusty Payne (HAW)

respectively.

The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons will be webcast LIVE at ASPWorldTour.c om

Men's Pipe Masters Invitational Final Match-Up:

Reef McIntosh (HAW), Jamie O'Brien (HAW), Makai McNamara (HAW), Hank Gaskell (HAW)

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)

Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)

Heat 4: Kelly Slater (USA), Adam Melling (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (ESP), TBD

Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS), TBD

Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Jadson Andre (BRA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)

Heat 8: Kolohe Andino (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 10: Owen Wright (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Mitch Crews (AUS)

Heat 11: Nat Young (USA), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Written by Giuseppe Friday, 12 December 2014 21:52

Women's Pipe Masters Invitational Heat: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tyler Wright (AUS), Carissa Moore (HAW), Bethany Hamilton (HAW)

ASP Heritage Series Heat: Gary Elkerton (AUS), Tom Carroll (AUS), Derek Ho (HAW) and Sunny Garcia (HAW)









Surfers Magazine.it

www.surfersmagazine.it

Written by Giuseppe Friday, 12 December 2014 21:52

FOLLOW US:



<u>www.photorepetto.com</u> <u>www.giusepperepetto.com</u> <u>www.gtclassic.it</u>